

Deschutes County 9-1-1 Service District Post Office Box 6005, Bend Oregon 97708

February 2015

LETTER OF SUPPORT: FORMATION OF A NEW COUNTYWIDE 9-1-1 SERVICE DISTRICT; ESTABLISHING A PERMANENT TAX RATE AND CONVERSION TO A REGIONAL RADIO SYSTEM

The entities and elected officials identified below recognize the urgent need to form a new countywide 9-1-1 Service District within Deschutes County, to include the establishment of a permanent tax rate to provide adequate and stable funding for 9-1-1 call receiving; emergency dispatch services and the conversion of the area's disparate and nearing end-of-life radio systems to a centrally managed Regional Radio System. The new system will facilitate interoperable communications between the region's law enforcement, fire and rescue, emergency medical services, schools, hospitals and other general government agencies, and will enhance the safety of all persons and institutions within Deschutes County.

The Deschutes County 9-1-1 Service District is prepared to fund comprehensive scoping of an emergency communications system, including value engineering, preparation of financing alternatives, investigation of grant funding and development of a governance structure. It is estimated this work will cost \$200,000.

Subject to official Resolutions approving the formation and permanent tax rate as required by ORS Chapter 451, in recognition of the critical importance of these items as well as the financial commitment being made by the 9-1-1 Service District to develop a ballot initiative for submission to the voters of Deschutes County, the entities and officials signing this letter resolve to actively support the formation of a new countywide 9-1-1 Service District. Said support may include assistance with the development of a communications plan which provides information and recommended materials for an effective campaign, written advocacy, testimony at public forums and interaction with the media.

For the Deschutes County 9-	1-1 Service District:	
Anthony DeBone, Chair	Alan Unger, Vice Chair	Tammy Baney, Commissioner
Deschutes County 9-1-1 Serv Deschutes County Board of County B	vice District Board Members and Commissioners	

SUPPORTING ELECTED OFFICIALS AND ENTITIES:

Larry Blanton, Sheriff	Jim Clinton, Mayor
Deschutes County	City of Bend
George Endicott, Mayor	Ken Mulenex, Mayor
City of Redmond	City of La Pine
Chris Frye, Mayor City of Sisters	George Roshak, Board President Deschutes County Rural Fire Protection District #2
Carroll Penhollow, Board President Redmond Fire and Rescue	Bob Kathman, Board President Alfalfa Fire District
Jerry Johnson, Board President Cloverdale Rural Fire Protection District	Doug Cox, Board President La Pine Rural Fire Protection District
Chuck Newport, Board President Sisters-Camp Sherman Fire District	Debra Baker, Chair Sunriver Service District Managing Board
Curtiss Abbott, Board Chair Black Butte Ranch Police Service District	Rodger Gabrielson, Board Chair Black Butte Ranch Rural Fire District
Bob Bengston, Board President Crooked River Ranch Fire and Rescue	