• Deschutes County Community Development
  • Deschutes County Community Development
  • Community Development Meeting

Our mission is to facilitate orderly growth and development in the Deschutes County community through coordinated programs of Land Use Planning, Environmental Soils, Building Safety, Code Enforcement, Education, and Service to the public.

The Community Development Department consists of four divisions and a code enforcement program, which provide coordinated planning and development services for the citizens of Deschutes County.  Community Development is fee supported, paying for county overhead costs with development fees.

The four divisions are:

Community Development has over 29 full-time employees dedicated to providing services to the citizens of Deschutes County.

Nick Lelack - Community Development Director

Nick Lelack, AICP - Community Development Director

Prior to joining the County in 2009, Nick's experiences spanned the public, private and non-profit sectors; federal, state and local governments; urban, rural and resort communities; coast-to-coast; and from high altitudes to sea level.  He has Masters' Degrees in Community and Regional Planning and Public Administration from the University of Oregon, and a Bachelor of Science from Willamette University.  Nick oversees all operations within the department including the satellite offices in Redmond, La Pine and Sisters.