Marriage license applications can be purchased from Deschutes County Clerk's Office. You can complete the Marriage License application form online before coming to the office. Both applicants must be present to sign the license when it is issued. (If you are unable to access the application page, either enter Compatibility Mode in Internet Explorer or download Google Chrome and try again).
Internet Explorer 10 Users:
If you have issues with Internet Explorer 10, you will need to add deschutes.org to your compatibility view list. Instructions can be found >here<.
Please visit the Clerk's Office at least three days before your marriage ceremony and no sooner than 60 days. Marriage License applications are processed on weekdays, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
There are no exceptions or waivers to the license fee. No extensions or refunds are made once the license is issued. There is a three-day waiting period from the day the license is issued until it can be used. The license is only good in the State of Oregon for 60 days from the effective date. Legal age for marriage in the State of Oregon is 18 years of age.
Regardless of whether you submit your marriage license application form online or complete it in our office, you must visit our office at least 3 days prior to your marriage ceremony in order to complete the application process. Use our marriage date calculator to determine when you'll need to obtain your license.
Anyone not yet 17 years of age cannot be legally married in the State of Oregon. A seventeen year-old can be married if they have the parent's or guardian's consent. Parent and guardian consent forms are available from this office.
Medical examinations and blood tests are not required.
Issuance After a Divorce
A license can be issued one day after the final date of a divorce.
Licenses Not Issued
Oregon state law does not allow the marriage of first cousins or nearer kin.
Legal Names Taken
The parties to the marriage will need to identify on the application the legal names they will be taking after the marriage. You may read more information about name changes in the Related Information, Forms & Documents on this page.
What to Bring
Fees: $55.00 payable when the license is issued. Both parties must sign the license at that time. We accept check, cash and debit cards (debit card processing fee additional $1). If you complete the Marriage License application form ahead of time please allow 5-10 minutes depending on our lobby wait time.
Identification: Both parties provide identification issued by a state or federal agency, showing both photo and date of birth.
How Much Time Will It Take?
Please allow approximately 20 minutes to obtain a license. If you complete the Marriage License application form online ahead of time, please allow 5-10 minutes. These times are approximate and dependent on our lobby wait time.
You may apply online. If you apply online, you will still need to visit the Clerk's Office to complete the license process.
There is no requirement for officiants to register their ordination or ministerial certificate/license prior to performing a ceremony. The officiant must meet the requirements under ORS 106.120. It is the responsibility of te officiant to properly complete the Marriage License form. Please refer to the Instructions to Officiants document for more information.
We do not make referrals to officiants other than authorized persons performing civil ceremonies. For available officiants, please consult the yellow pages in your telephone book. The following persons are authorized to perform civil ceremonies:
Andrea Shartel, Municipal Court Pro Tem Judge, City of Bend, (541) 330-1704 firstname.lastname@example.org
Requesting a Copy of Marriage License Record
A certified copy of your marriage license record will be required to show your legal name and relationship status after marriage. You will receive a memento certificate; however, this is not a legal document. To request a certified copy of your marriage license record, submit a Marriage Record copy request form or visit our office.
Deschutes County interprets ORS 106.150 “in the presence of” to mean the couple, officiant, and two witnesses must be physically present in the same room
, without the use of any electronic means such as Skype or telephone, throughout the ceremony.